BT: job cuts
- Jobs
- Number not stated
- Announced
- 24 March 2026
- Status
- Proposed
- Reason category
Classified from source evidence that a workplace closed as part of the cuts; the employer’s underlying reason may not be stated.
- Where
- Blackburn and Accrington
- Source coverage
- Two or more publisher groups
- Sources
- 3 sources from 2 publisher groups.
Why no UK headcount is shown: The 700 figure concerns different BT offices in Blackburn and Accrington. The Sunderland report describes a workforce of more than 460, with most workers proposed to move nearby, but gives no redundancy headcount.
Source: chroniclelive.co.uk.
Sources
| Publisher | Headline | Date |
|---|---|---|
| ChronicleLive | Hundreds of jobs at risk as BT confirms plans to close Sunderland EE call centre | 24 March 2026 |
| Lancashire Telegraph | Rally planned after 'frustration' at BT site closures leaving 700 jobs 'at risk' | 13 April 2026 |
| Lancashire Telegraph | Crowds rally together after BT closure plans puts 700 jobs at risk | 22 April 2026 |
Changes to this page
| Date | What changed | Supporting evidence |
|---|---|---|
| 11 Oct 2026 | First public announcement changed from 1 March 2026 to 24 March 2026. | chroniclelive.co.uk |
| 11 Oct 2026 | Recorded job figure changed from 700 to Not stated. | chroniclelive.co.uk |
| 11 Oct 2026 | How the number is stated changed from About to Not stated. | chroniclelive.co.uk |
| 11 Oct 2026 | Counting explanation updated. | chroniclelive.co.uk |
Is something wrong?
Tell us with a link to a source. Employers can send a response to be shown on this page.