- Home
- Workplaces closing
Workplaces closing
This is a reported fact about the job cuts. It may not be the employer's stated reason.
2026 count
None recorded yet in 2026
Published job cuts
| Date | Employer | Jobs | Where | Stated reason | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 3 Dec 2025 | National Timber Group | 561 | Hull | Costs | Confirmed |
| 1 Dec 2025 | Zipcar | Number not stated | Not stated | Restructuring | In consultation |
| 27 Nov 2025 | Vintage Birdcage Cakery | 25 | Charfield | Costs | Confirmed |
| 24 Nov 2025 | Kingston Modular Systems | 62 | Hull | Falling demand | Proposed |
| 22 Nov 2025 | Aer Lingus | About 200 | Manchester and Manchester Airport | Falling demand | In consultation |
| 21 Nov 2025 | First Bus | 275 | Camborne, Falmouth, Penzance, Summercourt and Truro | Costs | Proposed |
| 18 Nov 2025 | ExxonMobil | Up to 450 | Fife | Government policy or tax | Proposed |
| 18 Nov 2025 | Crest Nicholson | 50 | St Albans | Restructuring | In consultation |
| 12 Nov 2025 | NSK | About 350 | Peterlee | Restructuring | In consultation |
| 7 Nov 2025 | Fired Earth | 133 | Truro, Harrogate, Bath, Bristol, Exeter, Cheltenham, Nottingham, Chester and Knutsford | Insolvency | Confirmed |
| 3 Nov 2025 | The Entertainer | 41 | Poole | Government policy or tax | Confirmed |
| 28 Oct 2025 | Poundland | At least 1,300 | Walsall, Bexhill and Cameron Toll | Not stated | Proposed |
| 25 Oct 2025 | Quadrant | 51 | Chelmsford and Braintree | Falling demand | Confirmed |
| 20 Oct 2025 | Pizza Hut | At least 1,210 | Birmingham, Solihull, Stratford upon Avon, Grimsby, Scunthorpe, Hull, Ashton, Lancashire, Beckton, London, Bolton, Lancashire, Bournemouth, Dorset, Bradford Vicar Lane, West Yorkshire, Brighton Marina, East Sussex, Aspects Leisure Park, Bristol, Cardiff, South Glamorgan, Carlisle, Cumbria, Chatham, Kent, Clacton, Essex, Cortonwood, South Yorkshire, Crawley, West Sussex, Cribbs Causeway, South Gloucestershire, Croydon, Surrey, Dudley, West Midlands, Dundee, Durham, Eastbourne, East Sussex, Hanover Street, Edinburgh, Fountain Park, Edinburgh, Kinnaird Park, Edinburgh, Enfield, Middlesex, Falkirk, Scotland, Feltham, Middlesex, Finchley Lido, London, Great Yarmouth, Norfolk, Greenwich, London, Hartlepool, Cleveland, Hayes, Middlesex, Hereford, Herefordshire, Huddersfield, West Yorkshire, Inverness, Scotland, Kettering, Northamptonshire, Kidderminster, Worcestershire, Lancaster, Lancashire, Leeds Colton Mill, West Yorkshire, Leeds Kirkstall Road, West Yorkshire, Leeds White Rose, West Yorkshire, Liverpool, Merseyside, Llanelli, Dyfed, Lowestoft, Suffolk, Manchester Fort, Lancashire, Middlesbrough, Cleveland, Norwich, Norfolk, Oldham, Lancashire, Portsmouth, Hampshire, Preston, Lancashire, Reading Gate, Berkshire, Rhyl, Clwyd, Rochdale, Lancashire, Romford, Essex, Russell Square, London, Shrewsbury, Shropshire, St Helens, Merseyside, Thanet, Kent, Tower Park, Dorset, Truro, Cornwall, Urmston, Lancashire, Wellingborough, Northamptonshire, Wigan, Lancashire, Yeovil, Somerset, Aylesbury, Buckinghamshire, Bletchley, Milton Keynes, Coventry North, West Midlands, Coventry West, West Midlands, Dunstable, Bedfordshire, Leighton Buzzard, Bedfordshire, Luton, Bedfordshire, Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire, Rugby, Warwickshire, Uxbridge, Middlesex and Wolverton, Milton Keynes | Insolvency | Confirmed |
| 19 Oct 2025 | Betfred | About 7,500 | Not stated | Government policy or tax | Proposed |
| 15 Oct 2025 | Paddy Power | 128 | Belfast | Costs | Proposed |
| 14 Oct 2025 | Morrisons | 365 | Not stated | Restructuring | Confirmed |
| 29 Sep 2025 | Claire's | Not known | Cambridge and Huntingdon | Falling demand | In administration |
| 26 Sep 2025 | M&P Cycles | About 50 | Gorseinon | Insolvency | Confirmed |
| 25 Sep 2025 | Starbucks | Number not stated | Ilford, Brunel Retail Park in Whitley, Leyton Mills Retail Park, London Bridge Station, Balham, Glasgow Exchange Place, King’s Lynn in Norfolk, Muswell Hill, Aberdeen’s Holburn Junction and Holland Park | Falling demand | In consultation |
| 23 Sep 2025 | Amazon | Up to 250 | Ealing | Falling demand | In consultation |
| 22 Sep 2025 | Bodycare | 444 | Cramlington, MetroCentre, Washington, Sunderland, Ashton-Under-Lyne, Bury, Leigh, Manchester, Oldham and Livingston | Insolvency | Confirmed |
| 16 Sep 2025 | Sky | 900 | Leeds, London, Livingston, West Lothian, Osterley, Stockport, Sheffield and Leeds Central | Restructuring | In consultation |
| 15 Sep 2025 | Bodycare | 235 | Bolton, Salford, Hyde, Rochdale, Mansfield and Sutton-in-Ashfield | Costs | Proposed |
| 12 Sep 2025 | DS Smith | 139 | Clay Cross | Falling demand | Proposed |
| 5 Sep 2025 | Kingston Modular Systems Limited | 74 | Hull | Insolvency | Confirmed |
| 5 Sep 2025 | Bodycare | About 450 | Croydon, Edinburgh, Hemel Hempstead, Scunthorpe, Wrexham, Erdington, Northfield, Tamworth, Stourbridge, West Bromwich, Dumfries and Loughborough | Costs | Confirmed |
| 29 Aug 2025 | Roberts Bakery | 38 | Ilkeston | Restructuring | In consultation |
| 26 Aug 2025 | Poundland | Number not stated | Erdington, Kings Heath and The Fort | Insolvency | Proposed |
| 22 Aug 2025 | Villeroy and Boch Group | 100 | Staffordshire | Not stated | In consultation |
| 15 Aug 2025 | Associated British Foods | 160 | Hull | Government policy or tax | Proposed |
| 5 Aug 2025 | Morrisons | At least 3,600 | Coventry | Restructuring | Confirmed |
| 30 Jul 2025 | Santander | At least 2,000 | Not stated | Automation or AI | Confirmed |
| 22 Jul 2025 | BrewDog | Number not stated | Aberdeen Flagship (Gallowgate), Brighton, Camden, Dundee, Leeds North Street, Oxford, Sheffield, Shepherds Bush, Shoreditch, York and Aberdeen | Falling demand | In consultation |
| 11 Jul 2025 | Espersen | About 115 | Grimsby | Costs | Proposed |
| 7 Jul 2025 | Strathearn Arts | 1 | Crieff | Costs | Proposed |
| 26 Jun 2025 | Alexander Dennis | About 400 | Falkirk and Larbert | Falling demand | In consultation |
| 26 Jun 2025 | Associated British Foods (ABF) | 160 | Hull | Government policy or tax | In consultation |
| 25 Jun 2025 | River Island | Number not stated | Edinburgh Princes Street, Falkirk, Cumbernauld, Kirkcaldy, Kilmarnock and Perth | Falling demand | Proposed |
| 20 Jun 2025 | River Island | Number not stated | Banbury | Falling demand | Proposed |
| 18 Jun 2025 | Nippon Electric Glass | 250 | Hindley Green, Wigan | Restructuring | Proposed |
| 17 Jun 2025 | Poundland | About 1,350 | Darton, South Yorkshire and Bilston | Restructuring | Proposed |
| 16 Jun 2025 | Hobbycraft | Up to 126 | Bristol, Borehamwood, Basildon, Bagshot, Canterbury, Cirencester, Dunstable, Epping Forest, Lakeside Shopping Centre, Bournemouth and Burton-on-Trent | Restructuring | Confirmed |
| 3 Jun 2025 | Union Electric Steel | 172 | Gateshead | Falling demand | Proposed |
| 25 May 2025 | Sainsbury's | About 3,000 | Not stated | Costs | Confirmed |
| 23 May 2025 | International Paper | About 300 | Newcastle, Plymouth, Sheerness, Wellingborough and Milton Keynes | Falling demand | In consultation |
| 19 May 2025 | Santander UK | At least 750 | Not stated | Costs | Proposed |
| 15 May 2025 | FedEx | 400 | Newcastle-under-Lyme | Not stated | Proposed |
| 14 May 2025 | The Leadmill | At least 70 | Sheffield | Not stated | Proposed |
| 13 May 2025 | Morrisons | About 365 | Haxby | Costs | Confirmed |
| 12 May 2025 | Iceland | About 20 | Margate and Inverness | Not stated | In consultation |
| 6 May 2025 | Carpetright | At least 1,000 | Not stated | Insolvency | Proposed |
| 1 May 2025 | Santander | About 750 | Bootle | Restructuring | In consultation |
| 1 May 2025 | Exmoor Ales | 3 | Wiveliscombe | Costs | Confirmed |
| 30 Apr 2025 | BT | 140 | Derry | Restructuring | In consultation |
| 29 Apr 2025 | Associated British Foods | Up to 200 | Yorkshire | Government policy or tax | Proposed |
| 29 Apr 2025 | ABF | About 150 | Saltend, near Hull | Falling demand | Proposed |
| 28 Apr 2025 | Dow | 291 | Barry | Falling demand | In consultation |
| 22 Apr 2025 | Hobbycraft | Up to 126 | Bagshot, Surrey, Basildon, Essex, Borehamwood, Hertfordshire, Bristol: Imperial Retail Park, Canterbury, Kent, Cirencester, Gloucestershire, Dunstable, Bedfordshire, Epping Forest, Essex, Lakeside Shopping Centre, Essex, Bristol, Bournemouth, Burton-on-Trent, Bristol Imperial, Lakeside and Burton | Falling demand | Proposed |
| 11 Apr 2025 | Morrisons | About 365 | Shenfield | Costs | Proposed |
| 8 Apr 2025 | Sainsbury's | At least 3,000 | Swadlincote, Lincoln and Cheshire | Falling demand | Proposed |
| 29 Mar 2025 | Scope | About 70 | Wednesbury and Nuneaton | Costs | In consultation |
| 29 Mar 2025 | Dogs Trust | Up to 300 | Newbury, Berkshire | Costs | Proposed |
| 29 Mar 2025 | Sainsbury's | About 3,000 | Denton, Cheadle, Hazel Grove, Bamber Bridge and Morecambe | Costs | Proposed |
| 27 Mar 2025 | Sky | Up to 2,000 | Stockport, Sheffield, central Leeds, Leeds Central, Leeds, Dunfermline and Newcastle | Restructuring | Proposed |
| 27 Mar 2025 | British Steel | 2,700 | Scunthorpe | Costs | In consultation |
| 24 Mar 2025 | Morrisons | About 365 | Stoke-on-Trent, Newcastle-under-Lyme, Paisley, Banchory, Failsworth, Lutterworth, Bellshill, Dumbarton, East Kilbride, Largs, Troon, Wishaw, Newcastle upon Tyne, Northampton, Bromsgrove, High Wycombe, Welwyn Garden City, Erskine, Peebles, Stewarton, Selsdon, Goring-By-Sea, Eccles, Swinton, Kirkby, St Helens, Haxby Village, Bradford Thornbury, Leeds Swinnow Rd, Leeds Horsforth, Elland, Leeds Kirkstall, Bradford Enterprise 5, Sheffield Meadowhead and Bradford Victoria | Costs | Proposed |
| 18 Mar 2025 | Cereal Partners UK and Ireland | 314 | Bromborough | Falling demand | In consultation |
| 14 Mar 2025 | Select Fashion | Not known | South Shields, Ashington, Peterlee and Hartlepool | Insolvency | In administration |
| 11 Mar 2025 | Alliance Healthcare | About 150 | Nottingham, South Normanton and Hinckley | Restructuring | In consultation |
| 10 Mar 2025 | ATS Euromaster | About 400 | Plymouth, Exeter, Newton Abbot, Truro and Penzance | Restructuring | Confirmed |
| 7 Mar 2025 | Bistrot Pierre | 158 | Birmingham, Mere Green, Newport, Kidderminster, Southport, Preston, Leamington Spa and Coventry | Costs | Confirmed |
| 4 Mar 2025 | Aspro Parks | Number not stated | Pembrokeshire | Costs | Confirmed |
| 1 Mar 2025 | Santander | 750 | Caernarfon, Holywell, Holyhead, Colwyn Bay, Plympton, Honiton, Exmouth, Torquay, Armagh, County Armagh, Northern Ireland, Cumbernauld, Lanarkshire, Scotland, Downpatrick, County Down, Northern Ireland, Dungannon, County Tyrone, Northern Ireland, Glasgow LDHQ, Lanarkshire, Scotland, Hawick, Roxburghshire, Scotland, Magherafelt, County Londonderry, Northern Ireland, Market Harborough, Leicestershire, Musselburgh, Midlothian, Scotland, Portadown, County Armagh, Northern Ireland, Strabane, County Tyrone, Northern Ireland, Urmston, Didsbury, Clacton, Croydon, Gateshead, Launceston, Peterhead, Fleet and Swandlincote | Falling demand | Proposed |
| 25 Feb 2025 | Arla Foods | At least 120 | Settle | Restructuring | In consultation |
| 19 Feb 2025 | Quiz | Not known | Liverpool, Milton Keynes, Glasgow, Southampton, Athlone, Brighton, Bristol, Derry, Doncaster, Dundee, Enniskillen, Exeter, Falkirk, Fareham, Grimsby, Maidstone, Motherwell, Newbridge, Peterborough, Preston, Swansea, Tallaght and Telford | Falling demand | In administration |
| 17 Feb 2025 | Union Electric Steel UK | Up to 180 | Gateshead | Falling demand | In consultation |
| 12 Feb 2025 | Beales | 25 | Poole | Costs | Proposed |
| 7 Feb 2025 | Wabtec | At least 300 | Doncaster | Costs | Proposed |
| 7 Feb 2025 | Stellantis | About 1,100 | Luton | Government policy or tax | Proposed |
| 31 Jan 2025 | The Potters' Club | 10 | Stoke-on-Trent | Falling demand | Confirmed |
| 30 Jan 2025 | Multi-Color Corporation (MCC) | About 180 | Cwmbran | Restructuring | In consultation |
| 29 Jan 2025 | Tesco | About 400 | Welwyn Garden City and Snodland | Restructuring | Proposed |
| 28 Jan 2025 | BCA | About 200 | Chipping Warden | Restructuring | In consultation |
| 28 Jan 2025 | VPK UK & Ireland | 59 | Leeds | Costs | In consultation |
| 28 Jan 2025 | VPK Packaging | 59 | Leeds Bradford Industrial Estate | Costs | In consultation |
| 27 Jan 2025 | Almost Famous | Number not stated | Manchester, Liverpool and Leeds | Costs | Proposed |
| 27 Jan 2025 | Ubisoft | At least 100 | Leamington, Reflections, Newcastle-upon-Tyne and Newcastle | Costs | In consultation |
| 24 Jan 2025 | Weir Minerals | Up to 250 | Todmorden | Falling demand | Proposed |
| 23 Jan 2025 | Sainsbury's | At least 3,000 | Ballymena, Bangor, Coleraine, Derry, Forestside, Holywood Exchange, Kennedy Centre, Sprucefield, Hazel Grove, Stockport, Greater Manchester, Monks Cross, Huntington, North Yorkshire and Wakefield Marsh Way, Wakefield, West Yorkshire | Costs | In consultation |
| 23 Jan 2025 | Sainsbury's | At least 3,000 | Godalming, Wrexham, Rhyl, Westwood, Lincoln, County Durham, Leek, Denton, Cheadle, Hazel Grove, Leicester, Fosse Park and Talbot Heath | Costs | Proposed |
| 23 Jan 2025 | Sainsbury's | At least 3,000 | London, Milton Keynes, Whitchurch, Hedge End, Waterlooville, Nantwich, Gillingham, Thanet, Gravesend, Aylesford, Cannock and Swadlincote | Costs | In consultation |
| 22 Jan 2025 | St Cuthbert's Hospice | 18 | County Durham and Durham | Costs | Confirmed |
| 21 Jan 2025 | Petroineos | At least 400 | Grangemouth | Falling demand | Confirmed |
| 18 Jan 2025 | Your Leisure | At least 40 | Deal | Site closure | In consultation |
| 15 Jan 2025 | Saputo Dairy UK | 80 | Kirkby Malzeard | Costs | In consultation |
| 13 Jan 2025 | PageGroup | Number not stated | Not stated | Falling demand | Proposed |