layoffs.ukUK job cuts. With the facts.
BetaAn independent project.
Report an error →

UK job cuts

Track UK job cuts, job losses and redundancies with named employers, places and sources.

199,730potential redundancies notified to governmentHR1 figures, Great Britain, January to August 2026.That is about 1,200 a working day, one every 24 seconds of an 8-hour working day.HR1 covers only plans for 20 or more redundancies at one site. The ONS Labour Force Survey, which counts people made redundant by employers of every size, estimates 232,000 in January to June 2026.About this figure →
Real jobs.Real places.Real impact.
19,446jobs proposed or under consultation101 announcements by named employers, 1 January to 26 September 2026
3,381jobs confirmed or completed30 confirmed or completed by named employers, 1 January to 26 September 2026
246larger companies entered administration, 1 January to 25 September 2026Job impact not known. Source: The Gazette.See the administrations

Named so far: about 1 in 9. We have found public reports for about 23,000 of the 199,730 redundancies notified to the government. The rest have no public name.

Against the survey estimate of people made redundant, the named share is smaller still.

HR1 covers Great Britain and cuts of 20 or more at one site; our count also includes Northern Ireland and smaller cuts, so the share is approximate.

Named job cuts in 2026

Named job cuts by month in 2026Grouped bars compare proposed or consultation job cuts with confirmed job cuts for each month.JanFebMarAprMayJunJulAugSep
Named job cuts by month in 2026
MonthProposed or consultationConfirmed
January 20261,681602
February 20261,829461
March 20263,3481,195
April 20261,443231
May 2026421243
June 20263,070220
July 202664675
August 2026No numbered cuts found yetNo numbered cuts found yet
September 20267,008354

Redundancies notified to government (HR1)

Monthly HR1 potential redundancies, Great Britain: 2026 and 2025Red bars show the current year and grey bars the same month in the previous year. A missing bar means no figure has been published for that month.JanFebMarAprMayJunJulAugSepOctNovDec

HR1 forms: employers planning 20 or more redundancies at one site, Great Britain. Source: Insolvency Service data published by ONS.

Monthly HR1 potential redundancies, Great Britain, 2026 and 2025
Month20262025
January27,27922,364
February26,74126,738
March25,89129,043
April21,65022,767
May35,53322,695
June24,40826,451
July20,93123,161
August17,29719,429
SeptemberNot available23,850
OctoberNot available24,230
NovemberNot available29,733
DecemberNot available21,192

Job cuts by constituency

Map of named job cuts by constituency in 2026
  • 1,000+
  • 500–1,000
  • 100–500
  • 10–100
  • 1–10
  • No named cuts
Explore by constituency →

Most affected constituencies

View all →
  1. 1Liverpool Riverside600›
  2. 2Milton Keynes Central590›
  3. 3Newcastle-under-Lyme400›
  4. 4Truro and Falmouth350›
  5. 5Clwyd East297›

Highest per 1,000 employees

  1. 1Blaydon and Consett10.3›
  2. 2Clwyd East9.9›
  3. 3Newcastle-under-Lyme9.8›
  4. 4South Holland and The Deepings7.8›
  5. 5Blackpool North and Fleetwood7.4›

Named job cuts this year per 1,000 employees in the seat (ONS BRES).

Beyond named cuts

1,946Company insolvencies, England and Wales, August 2026 down 3% on August 2025Source: Insolvency Service
182Administrations, England and Wales, August 2026 up 60% on August 2025Source: Insolvency Service
31% fewerJob postings on Indeed than in February 2020, Great Britain, 18 September 2026Index 68.66 (February 2020 = 100), seasonally adjustedSource: Indeed Hiring Lab (CC BY 4.0)

What the sources say

Closures and moves abroad are reported facts. AI or automation counts only when the employer cites it.

Why employers say they are cutting jobs

The reason the employer gave. Insolvency means the company entered administration or liquidation.

Stated reasonNamed jobsAnnouncements
Costs
1,232
19
Restructuring
830
5
Insolvency
391
252
Falling demand
156
6
Site closure
80
1
Government policy or tax
0
1
Not stated
20,138
109

Latest job cuts

View all →
EmployerJobsLocationDateSourceOpen
NSKAbout 220Newark26 Sep 2026themanufacturer.com›
QuizAbout 200Not stated26 Sep 2026BusinessLive›
The Post OfficeAbout 100Not stated26 Sep 2026ChronicleLive›
FedEx400Not stated26 Sep 2026Stoke Sentinel›
Jenx Ltd47Not stated26 Sep 2026ExaminerLive›

Every number has a source

Figures are taken from news reports, company statements and official notices, checked against the original text, and corrected in public.

How we verify data →

Understanding the data

Announced and confirmed cuts are counted apart. Cuts with no stated number, and global cuts with no UK figure, are listed but not counted.

How we count →

Who runs it

layoffs.uk is an independent project. You can send corrections and questions through our contact form.

Contact us →