- Home
- September 2026
UK job cuts in September 2026
- Jobs in cuts proposed or under consultation
- 7,404
- Jobs in cuts confirmed or completed
- 1,736
- Named employers
- 85
- Administrations
- 26
Largest named cuts
| Date | Employer | Jobs | Where | Stated reason | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 23 Sep 2026 | Legal & General | About 1,000 | Not stated | Costs | Proposed |
| 25 Sep 2026 | TalkTalk | 900 | Not stated | Not stated | Proposed |
| 23 Sep 2026 | Admiral | 500 | Not stated | Costs | In consultation |
| 25 Sep 2026 | Bodycare | 450 | Tamworth, Cannock and Scunthorpe | Insolvency | Confirmed |
| 8 Sep 2026 | Ulster University | About 450 | Not stated | Costs | Proposed |
| 25 Sep 2026 | FedEx | 400 | Newcastle-under-Lyme | Restructuring | Proposed |
| 25 Sep 2026 | Alexander Dennis | About 400 | Larbert and Camelon | Costs | Proposed |
| 25 Sep 2026 | Petroineos | About 400 | Grangemouth | Falling demand | Proposed |
| 8 Sep 2026 | Channel 4 | 340 | London | Costs | Proposed |
| 18 Sep 2026 | Clayton Glass Ltd | 290 | County Durham, North Lanarkshire and Blackburn | Costs | Confirmed |
All job cuts this month
| Date | Employer | Jobs | Where | Stated reason | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 25 Sep 2026 | Bhgs Limited | Not known | Evesham | Insolvency | In administration |
| 25 Sep 2026 | Laced Europe Ltd | Not known | Aylesbury | Insolvency | In administration |
| 25 Sep 2026 | Calcivis Limited | Not known | Midlothian | Insolvency | In administration |
| 25 Sep 2026 | Ovenden Papers Limited | Not known | Essex | Insolvency | In administration |
| 25 Sep 2026 | JT Leyland Limited | 43 | Milnthorpe, Cumbria | Costs | Confirmed |
| 25 Sep 2026 | TalkTalk | 900 | Not stated | Not stated | Proposed |
| 25 Sep 2026 | Durham County Council | About 18 | Not stated | Costs | Proposed |
| 25 Sep 2026 | Cardiff Metropolitan University | At least 30 | Cardiff | Costs | In consultation |
| 25 Sep 2026 | Motorpoint Arena | 19 | Nottingham | Costs | Proposed |
| 25 Sep 2026 | Beam | 162 | Not stated | Insolvency | Confirmed |
| 25 Sep 2026 | FedEx | 400 | Newcastle-under-Lyme | Restructuring | Proposed |
| 25 Sep 2026 | Moorcroft | 57 | Burslem | Insolvency | Proposed |
| 25 Sep 2026 | Spectrum Yarns | 77 | Slaithwaite | Costs | In consultation |
| 25 Sep 2026 | Alexander Dennis | About 400 | Larbert and Camelon | Costs | Proposed |
| 25 Sep 2026 | Greenergy | About 60 | Immingham | Falling demand | In consultation |
| 25 Sep 2026 | Essex Police | 9 | Braintree, Clacton, Basildon and Harlow | Falling demand | Proposed |
| 25 Sep 2026 | Koala Karlous | 50 | Plymouth, Falmouth, Cornwall Services and London | Costs | Proposed |
| 25 Sep 2026 | G4S Cash Solutions | 76 | Leicester | Restructuring | Proposed |
| 25 Sep 2026 | Amey | Up to 100 | Not stated | Restructuring | In consultation |
| 25 Sep 2026 | AAP Metal Fabrication | 4 | Jarrow | Insolvency | Confirmed |
| 25 Sep 2026 | Lindsey Oil Refinery | 125 | North Killingholme | Insolvency | Proposed |
| 25 Sep 2026 | Ebuyer | 79 | Howden Dyke | Insolvency | Confirmed |
| 25 Sep 2026 | HE Simm and Son Limited | 128 | Liverpool | Insolvency | Confirmed |
| 25 Sep 2026 | Bodycare | 450 | Tamworth, Cannock and Scunthorpe | Insolvency | Confirmed |
| 25 Sep 2026 | Jenx Ltd | 47 | Sheffield | Costs | Proposed |
| 25 Sep 2026 | Bodycare | About 235 | Hinckley | Insolvency | Proposed |
| 25 Sep 2026 | INEOS | 60 | Hull | Costs | Proposed |
| 25 Sep 2026 | Visit Cornwall | 6 | Not stated | Insolvency | Confirmed |
| 25 Sep 2026 | University of the West of Scotland | About 65 | Paisley | Costs | Proposed |
| 25 Sep 2026 | RSA Insurance | 112 | Sunderland | Restructuring | Proposed |
| 25 Sep 2026 | Brace's Bakery | About 20 | Blackwood | Costs | Proposed |
| 25 Sep 2026 | Department for Work and Pensions | 128 | Lincoln | Site closure | Proposed |
| 25 Sep 2026 | Quiz | 109 | Glasgow and Bellshill | Costs | Proposed |
| 25 Sep 2026 | English Heritage | About 189 | Not stated | Costs | In consultation |
| 25 Sep 2026 | Post Office | About 100 | Not stated | Costs | Proposed |
| 25 Sep 2026 | Virtuoso Doors | 100 | Follingsby Park | Falling demand | Confirmed |
| 25 Sep 2026 | Petroineos | About 400 | Grangemouth | Falling demand | Proposed |
| 25 Sep 2026 | Union Electric Steel | About 180 | Gateshead | Falling demand | In consultation |
| 25 Sep 2026 | Zytronic | 71 | Blaydon | Not stated | Proposed |
| 25 Sep 2026 | University of South Wales | About 90 | Not stated | Costs | In consultation |
| 25 Sep 2026 | Atlas Leisure Homes | About 180 | Hull | Falling demand | Proposed |
| 25 Sep 2026 | The Royal Mint | About 80 | Llantrisant | Restructuring | In consultation |
| 24 Sep 2026 | Salem Tube International Limited | Not known | Northumberland | Insolvency | In administration |
| 24 Sep 2026 | Designers Guild | At least 93 | London | Insolvency | Confirmed |
| 24 Sep 2026 | Vistry Group | Number not stated | Not stated | Costs | Proposed |
| 23 Sep 2026 | Cambium Networks, Ltd | Not known | Devon | Insolvency | In administration |
| 23 Sep 2026 | Mf Global UK Limited | Not known | Not stated | Insolvency | In administration |
| 23 Sep 2026 | William John (hv) PLC | Not known | Not stated | Insolvency | In administration |
| 23 Sep 2026 | Legal & General | About 1,000 | Not stated | Costs | Proposed |
| 23 Sep 2026 | BBC Sport | 7 | Not stated | Costs | Proposed |
| 23 Sep 2026 | The Co-op | Number not stated | Not stated | Costs | Proposed |
| 23 Sep 2026 | Admiral | 500 | Not stated | Costs | In consultation |
| 21 Sep 2026 | S&pb Retail Limited | Not known | Bolton | Insolvency | In administration |
| 21 Sep 2026 | Clayton Glass Limited | Not known | Stanley | Insolvency | In administration |
| 18 Sep 2026 | Medicare Ems Group UK Limited | Not known | Great Baddow | Insolvency | In administration |
| 18 Sep 2026 | Clayton Glass Ltd | 290 | County Durham, North Lanarkshire and Blackburn | Costs | Confirmed |
| 17 Sep 2026 | European Cargo Limited | 178 | Bournemouth International Airport | Falling demand | Confirmed |
| 16 Sep 2026 | Reach | 220 | Not stated | Falling demand | Proposed |
| 16 Sep 2026 | KPMG | About 200 | Not stated | Falling demand | In consultation |
| 16 Sep 2026 | Entain | 400 | Not stated | Government policy or tax | In consultation |
| 15 Sep 2026 | Papyrus Prevention of Young Suicide | Not known | Warrington | Insolvency | In administration |
| 15 Sep 2026 | Scotpharm (mna) Limited | Not known | Lenzie | Insolvency | In administration |
| 15 Sep 2026 | Helix Construct | Not known | Hemel Hempstead | Costs | In administration |
| 14 Sep 2026 | Mge Korea Limited | Not known | N/A | Insolvency | In administration |
| 14 Sep 2026 | Cove Communities Venture 2 Medmerry Propco Limited | Not known | Chichester | Insolvency | In administration |
| 14 Sep 2026 | Cove Communities Venture 2 Medmerry Opco Limited | Not known | Chichester | Insolvency | In administration |
| 10 Sep 2026 | Hfd Limited | Not known | Not stated | Insolvency | In administration |
| 9 Sep 2026 | Sunseeker London Limited | Not known | POOLE | Insolvency | In administration |
| 9 Sep 2026 | Sunseeker Poole Limited | Not known | Poole | Insolvency | In administration |
| 9 Sep 2026 | Qmover Mfs Ltd | Not known | Burton upon Trent | Insolvency | In administration |
| 9 Sep 2026 | Headlam | 154 | Not stated | Insolvency | Confirmed |
| 8 Sep 2026 | Ulster University | About 450 | Not stated | Costs | Proposed |
| 8 Sep 2026 | Channel 4 | 340 | London | Costs | Proposed |
| 8 Sep 2026 | BG Mathers Limited | 7 | Not stated | Costs | Confirmed |
| 7 Sep 2026 | Page Automotive Group Limited | Not known | Poole | Insolvency | In administration |
| 7 Sep 2026 | Precision Colour Printing Limited | Not known | Telford | Insolvency | In administration |
| 7 Sep 2026 | Whitbread | Number not stated | Edinburgh, Falkirk, Aberdeenshire, Inverness and Stirlingshire | Costs | Confirmed |
| 7 Sep 2026 | St Gerard's School | At least 30 | Bangor | Government policy or tax | Proposed |
| 7 Sep 2026 | BBSM | 30 | Tiverton | Insolvency | Proposed |
| 7 Sep 2026 | Jaguar Land Rover | 4,000 | Coventry | Costs | Proposed |
| 4 Sep 2026 | Mansell Building Solutions Ltd | Not known | Chadderton | Insolvency | In administration |
| 4 Sep 2026 | PureLifi | 42 | Leith, Edinburgh | Costs | Confirmed |
| 4 Sep 2026 | DS Smith | 165 | Launceston | Falling demand | Proposed |
| 3 Sep 2026 | Italk Affiliate Telecommunications Ltd | Not known | Portslade | Insolvency | In administration |
| 2 Sep 2026 | Wirral Council | 5 | Not stated | Costs | Proposed |
| 1 Sep 2026 | Airband Community Internet Limited | Not known | Droitwich | Insolvency | In administration |
| 1 Sep 2026 | Orchard Media and Events | About 70 | Not stated | Falling demand | Proposed |