Diageo: job cuts
- Jobs
- UK share not stated
- Announced
- 22 January 2026
- Status
- In consultation
- Reason category
Classified from source evidence that a workplace closed as part of the cuts; the employer’s underlying reason may not be stated.
- Where
- Brora
- Source coverage
- Two or more publisher groups
- Sources
- 6 sources from 4 publisher groups.
Why no UK headcount is shown: This entry covers the proposed Clynelish visitor-centre closure. The employer did not give a job-cut count. Production at the distillery continues.
Source: The Herald.
Sources
| Publisher | Headline | Date |
|---|---|---|
| The National | Jobs at risk as Highlands distillery visitor centre set to close after just 4 years | 22 January 2026 |
| The Herald | Jobs at risk as whisky giant to axe Scottish distillery visitor attraction | 22 January 2026 |
| The Grocer | Diageo ‘driving through redundancies’ at Scotland distilleries, says GMB Union | 3 August 2026 |
| northern-times.co.uk | Highland distillery jobs under threat as union accuses Diageo of 'sham' redundancy consultation | 3 August 2026 |
| grampianonline.co.uk | Moray MSP requests urgent meeting with union reps and Diageo amid fears for dozens of Moray jobs | 4 August 2026 |
| The Herald | Over 170 jobs at risk as whisky giant pushes ahead with global cost‑cutting plan | 4 August 2026 |
Changes to this page
| Date | What changed | Supporting evidence |
|---|---|---|
| 26 Sep 2026 | Main reason changed from Not stated to Costs. | Source not recorded |
| 11 Oct 2026 | Main reason changed from Costs to Not stated. | The Herald |
| 11 Oct 2026 | Employer reasons changed from Not stated to Not stated. | The Herald |
| 11 Oct 2026 | Employer explanation updated. | The Herald |
| 11 Oct 2026 | Counting explanation updated. | The Herald |
| 11 Oct 2026 | Public location updated for Cardhu. | The Herald |
| 11 Oct 2026 | Public location updated for Cragganmore. | The Herald |
| 11 Oct 2026 | Public location updated for Dufftown. | The Herald |
| 11 Oct 2026 | Public location updated for Port Ellen. | The Herald |
Is something wrong?
Tell us with a link to a source. Employers can send a response to be shown on this page.