BetaAn independent project.
Report an error →

Marks and Spencer: job cuts

Jobs
Number not stated
Announced
24 February 2026
Status
Proposed
Reason category

Classified from source evidence that a workplace closed as part of the cuts; the employer’s underlying reason may not be stated.

Where
Not stated
Source coverage
Two or more publisher groups
Sources
6 sources from 2 publisher groups.

Why no UK headcount is shown: The 92 is the Swansea store workforce. The report describes consultation and possible alternative roles without stating how many jobs will be lost.

Source: Daily Express.

Sources

PublisherHeadlineDate
Daily ExpressMarks and Spencer make major store closure announcement — dozens of jobs at risk24 February 2026
Manchester Evening NewsMarks and Spencer makes major store closure announcement24 February 2026
Birmingham MailM&S set to shut 'underperforming' flagship store - 92 staff at risk24 February 2026
The Sun‘Final nail in the coffin’ as Marks & Spencer confirms it’s shutting flagship store after 100 years with 92 jobs at risk25 February 2026
Birmingham MailMarks and Spencer confirm major store closure putting over 90 jobs at risk28 February 2026
Daily ExpressMajor UK supermarket closes flagship store on May 30 - 92 jobs at risk10 May 2026

Changes to this page

DateWhat changedSupporting evidence
11 Oct 2026First public announcement changed from 1 February 2026 to 24 February 2026.Daily Express
11 Oct 2026Recorded job figure changed from 92 to Not stated.Daily Express
11 Oct 2026How the number is stated changed from Exact to Not stated.Daily Express
11 Oct 2026Counting explanation updated.Daily Express

Is something wrong?

Tell us with a link to a source. Employers can send a response to be shown on this page.