BetaAn independent project.
Report an error →

Marks and Spencer: job cuts

Jobs
Number not stated
Announced
7 April 2026
Status
Proposed
Reason category

Classified from source evidence that a workplace closed as part of the cuts; the employer’s underlying reason may not be stated.

Where
Not stated
Source coverage
Two or more publisher groups
Sources
4 sources from 3 publisher groups.

Why no UK headcount is shown: The Newport closure report gives no job figure. The separate report about around 50 jobs concerns Walton-on-the-Naze, not this store.

Source: walesonline.co.uk.

Sources

PublisherHeadlineDate
WalesOnlineM&S announces closure of Welsh city centre store7 April 2026
The SunMarks & Spencer confirms closure of 16,000 sq ft seaside store in ‘devastating’ update - putting 50 jobs at risk13 May 2026
Daily ExpressMarks & Spencer closing huge store in UK seaside town - 50 jobs at risk13 May 2026
Echo NewsMajor retailer will close Essex store TOMORROW25 September 2026

Changes to this page

DateWhat changedSupporting evidence
26 Sep 2026Recorded job figure changed from Not stated to 50.Source not recorded
11 Oct 2026Recorded job figure changed from 50 to Not stated.walesonline.co.uk
11 Oct 2026How the number is stated changed from Exact to Not stated.walesonline.co.uk
11 Oct 2026Counting explanation updated.walesonline.co.uk
11 Oct 2026Public location updated for Walton-on-the-Naze.walesonline.co.uk
11 Oct 2026First public announcement changed from 1 April 2026 to 7 April 2026.walesonline.co.uk

Is something wrong?

Tell us with a link to a source. Employers can send a response to be shown on this page.