Close Brothers: job cuts
- Jobs
- UK share not stated
- Announced
- 17 March 2026
- Status
- Proposed
- Reason category
- Costs
necessary to structurally lower our cost base
- Costs
- Where
- Not stated
- Source coverage
- Two or more publisher groups
- Sources
- 3 sources from 3 publisher groups.
Why no UK headcount is shown: The company gives a target of about 600 full-time equivalents across its group. It does not state a UK people count.
Source: Close Brothers Group.
Sources
| Publisher | Headline | Date |
|---|---|---|
| investegate.co.uk | Employer statement on transformation and workforce | 17 March 2026 |
| The Telegraph | Close Brothers to cut 600 jobs amid warnings of ‘wipeout’ from car finance scandal | 17 March 2026 |
| bmmagazine.co.uk | Close Brothers to cut 600 jobs as motor finance scandal pressures finances | 18 March 2026 |
Changes to this page
| Date | What changed | Supporting evidence |
|---|---|---|
| 7 Oct 2026 | Recorded job figure changed from 600 to Not stated. | Close Brothers Group |
| 7 Oct 2026 | How the number is stated changed from Exact to Not stated. | Close Brothers Group |
| 7 Oct 2026 | UK share stated changed from Yes to No. | Close Brothers Group |
| 7 Oct 2026 | Main reason changed from Not stated to Costs. | Close Brothers Group |
| 7 Oct 2026 | Employer explanation updated. | Close Brothers Group |
| 7 Oct 2026 | Employer reasons changed from Not stated to Costs. | Close Brothers Group |
| 11 Oct 2026 | Counting explanation updated. | Close Brothers Group |
Is something wrong?
Tell us with a link to a source. Employers can send a response to be shown on this page.