- Home
- Costs
Job cuts where the employer's stated reason is: Costs
This is the reason the employer gave. Reasons given by unions or commentators are not used, and we add none of our own.
2026 count
74 events, 14,433 named jobs
Published job cuts
| Date | Employer | Jobs | Where | Stated reason | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 25 Sep 2026 | JT Leyland Limited | 43 | Milnthorpe, Cumbria | Costs | Confirmed |
| 25 Sep 2026 | Durham County Council | About 18 | Not stated | Costs | Proposed |
| 25 Sep 2026 | Cardiff Metropolitan University | At least 30 | Cardiff | Costs | In consultation |
| 25 Sep 2026 | Motorpoint Arena | 19 | Nottingham | Costs | Proposed |
| 25 Sep 2026 | Spectrum Yarns | 77 | Slaithwaite | Costs | In consultation |
| 25 Sep 2026 | Alexander Dennis | About 400 | Larbert and Camelon | Costs | Proposed |
| 25 Sep 2026 | Koala Karlous | 50 | Plymouth, Falmouth, Cornwall Services and London | Costs | Proposed |
| 25 Sep 2026 | Jenx Ltd | 47 | Sheffield | Costs | Proposed |
| 25 Sep 2026 | INEOS | 60 | Hull | Costs | Proposed |
| 25 Sep 2026 | University of the West of Scotland | About 65 | Paisley | Costs | Proposed |
| 25 Sep 2026 | Brace's Bakery | About 20 | Blackwood | Costs | Proposed |
| 25 Sep 2026 | Quiz | 109 | Glasgow and Bellshill | Costs | Proposed |
| 25 Sep 2026 | English Heritage | About 189 | Not stated | Costs | In consultation |
| 25 Sep 2026 | Post Office | About 100 | Not stated | Costs | Proposed |
| 25 Sep 2026 | University of South Wales | About 90 | Not stated | Costs | In consultation |
| 24 Sep 2026 | Vistry Group | Number not stated | Not stated | Costs | Proposed |
| 23 Sep 2026 | Legal & General | About 1,000 | Not stated | Costs | Proposed |
| 23 Sep 2026 | BBC Sport | 7 | Not stated | Costs | Proposed |
| 23 Sep 2026 | The Co-op | Number not stated | Not stated | Costs | Proposed |
| 23 Sep 2026 | Admiral | 500 | Not stated | Costs | In consultation |
| 18 Sep 2026 | Clayton Glass Ltd | 290 | County Durham, North Lanarkshire and Blackburn | Costs | Confirmed |
| 15 Sep 2026 | Helix Construct | Not known | Hemel Hempstead | Costs | In administration |
| 8 Sep 2026 | Ulster University | About 450 | Not stated | Costs | Proposed |
| 8 Sep 2026 | Channel 4 | 340 | London | Costs | Proposed |
| 8 Sep 2026 | BG Mathers Limited | 7 | Not stated | Costs | Confirmed |
| 7 Sep 2026 | Whitbread | Number not stated | Edinburgh, Falkirk, Aberdeenshire, Inverness and Stirlingshire | Costs | Confirmed |
| 7 Sep 2026 | Jaguar Land Rover | 4,000 | Coventry | Costs | Proposed |
| 4 Sep 2026 | PureLifi | 42 | Leith, Edinburgh | Costs | Confirmed |
| 2 Sep 2026 | Wirral Council | 5 | Not stated | Costs | Proposed |
| 27 Aug 2026 | BBC | 36 | Not stated | Costs | Proposed |
| 25 Aug 2026 | Whitbread | Number not stated | Nottingham, Newark and Worksop | Costs | Proposed |
| 31 Jul 2026 | Foundever | 220 | Motherwell and Newcastle | Costs | In consultation |
| 30 Jun 2026 | Magnet | Not known | Bridgwater | Costs | In administration |
| 30 Jun 2026 | Jacksons Bakery | At least 20 | Hull | Costs | In consultation |
| 23 Jun 2026 | University of Exeter | About 59 | Penryn Campus | Costs | In consultation |
| 17 Jun 2026 | AO World | Up to 200 | Bolton | Costs | Proposed |
| 17 Jun 2026 | BBC | Up to 2,000 | Wales | Costs | Proposed |
| 8 Jun 2026 | Zentia | About 170 | Gateshead | Costs | Confirmed |
| 5 Jun 2026 | British Heart Foundation | Number not stated | Sutton Coldfield | Costs | Proposed |
| 3 Jun 2026 | European Cargo Limited | 178 | Bournemouth | Costs | Confirmed |
| 3 Jun 2026 | Hughes | 35 | East Anglia and Wisbech | Costs | Proposed |
| 2 Jun 2026 | Sunhill Transport Ltd | About 32 | Deeside | Costs | Proposed |
| 12 May 2026 | University of Nottingham | At least 600 | Not stated | Costs | Proposed |
| 12 May 2026 | Cancer Research | About 190 | Not stated | Costs | Proposed |
| 11 May 2026 | Victrex | Number not stated | Not stated | Costs | Proposed |
| 6 May 2026 | Spaghetti House | 101 | Marble Arch, Carnaby, Oxford Street, Kensington and Soho | Costs | Confirmed |
| 28 Apr 2026 | Ascend Airways | 161 | Not stated | Costs | Proposed |
| 15 Apr 2026 | Franco Manca | About 225 | Battersea, Stoke Newington, Kilburn, Tottenham Court Road, Bishop's Stortford, Cheltenham, Didsbury, Glasgow, Hove, Lincoln, Plymouth, London, Chiswick, London, Brixton, New Oxford Street, Bromley and Broadway Market in Hackney | Costs | Confirmed |
| 15 Apr 2026 | BBC | 2,000 | Not stated | Costs | Proposed |
| 14 Apr 2026 | Farleigh Hospice | 17 | Not stated | Costs | In consultation |
| 8 Apr 2026 | John Lewis Partnership | 3,300 | Not stated | Costs | Confirmed |
| 8 Apr 2026 | St Lawrence College | 166 | Ramsgate | Costs | Confirmed |
| 1 Apr 2026 | Motorpoint Arena | 19 | Nottingham | Costs | Proposed |
| 31 Mar 2026 | Denby | At least 80 | Derbyshire and Denby | Costs | Confirmed |
| 31 Mar 2026 | Meatliquor | At least 5 | Islington, Clapham Junction, Queensway, Brighton and Leeds | Costs | Proposed |
| 18 Mar 2026 | Volvo | Up to 120 | Motherwell | Costs | Proposed |
| 17 Mar 2026 | Close Brothers | 600 | Not stated | Costs | Proposed |
| 9 Mar 2026 | Butlin's | 250 | Skegness | Costs | Proposed |
| 6 Mar 2026 | Innis & Gunn | 100 | Glasgow, Edinburgh and Perth | Costs | Proposed |
| 4 Mar 2026 | University of South Wales | About 200 | Not stated | Costs | In consultation |
| 26 Feb 2026 | Ocado | 1,000 | Hatfield, Hertfordshire | Costs | Proposed |
| 25 Feb 2026 | Molson Coors Beverage Company | About 50 | Rock, Cornwall | Costs | In consultation |
| 25 Feb 2026 | Aston Martin Lagonda | Number not stated | Not stated | Costs | Proposed |
| 25 Feb 2026 | Aston Martin | 500 | Gaydon | Costs | In consultation |
| 18 Feb 2026 | Gilks | At least 100 | Nantwich, Cheshire | Costs | Proposed |
| 12 Feb 2026 | Afford Rent a Car | 34 | Stoke-on-Trent | Costs | Confirmed |
| 11 Feb 2026 | Gilks | About 30 | Anglesey | Costs | Confirmed |
| 8 Feb 2026 | Ocado | Up to 1,000 | UK-based head office | Costs | Proposed |
| 1 Feb 2026 | ATS Euromaster | 703 | Aston | Costs | Confirmed |
| 1 Feb 2026 | C W Sellors | 36 | Not stated | Costs | Confirmed |
| 28 Jan 2026 | Original Factory Shop | 1,180 | Prudhoe, Ballycastle, Portrush and Warrenpoint | Costs | Confirmed |
| 20 Jan 2026 | Moores Furniture Group | 124 | West Yorkshire | Costs | Confirmed |
| 12 Jan 2026 | Puccini | About 15 | Swinton | Costs | Proposed |
| 5 Jan 2026 | Claire's | Not known | Plymouth | Costs | In administration |
| 5 Dec 2025 | Poundland | About 1,000 | Not stated | Costs | Confirmed |
| 27 Nov 2025 | Vintage Birdcage Cakery | 25 | Charfield | Costs | Confirmed |
| 6 Nov 2025 | BT | 5,000 | Not stated | Costs | Proposed |
| 23 Oct 2025 | Shoezone | 39 | Boscombe, Bournemouth, Burgess Hill and West Sussex | Costs | Confirmed |
| 15 Oct 2025 | Paddy Power | 128 | Belfast | Costs | Proposed |
| 14 Oct 2025 | Royal Cornwall Hospitals Trust | Number not stated | Truro | Costs | In consultation |
| 13 Oct 2025 | Anheddau | 400 | Not stated | Costs | Proposed |
| 7 Oct 2025 | Wirral Council | Up to 17 | Merseyside | Costs | Proposed |
| 7 Oct 2025 | INEOS | 60 | Hull | Costs | Proposed |
| 23 Sep 2025 | B&Q | 672 | Southampton | Costs | Proposed |
| 23 Sep 2025 | Royal Cornwall Hospitals Trust | About 700 | Not stated | Costs | In consultation |
| 11 Sep 2025 | Welsh Water | Up to 500 | Not stated | Costs | Proposed |
| 11 Sep 2025 | Bangor Cathedral | 5 | Not stated | Costs | Proposed |
| 8 Sep 2025 | Bodycare | 130 | Dumfries | Costs | Confirmed |
| 5 Sep 2025 | Bodycare | 450 | Croydon, Edinburgh, Hemel Hempstead, Scunthorpe, Wrexham, Erdington, Northfield, Tamworth, Stourbridge, West Bromwich and Loughborough | Costs | Confirmed |
| 29 Aug 2025 | Scope | 6 | Alton, Bishop's Stortford, Huntingdon, Newmarket, Beverley, Fleet and March | Costs | Confirmed |
| 25 Jul 2025 | Oakman Inns & Restaurants | 159 | Not stated | Costs | Proposed |
| 17 Jul 2025 | Clintons | At least 300 | Rugby, Keighley, Leamington Spa, Halifax and Andover | Costs | Proposed |
| 10 Jul 2025 | National Trust | About 550 | Not stated | Costs | In consultation |
| 7 Jul 2025 | Strathearn Arts | 1 | Crieff | Costs | Proposed |
| 30 Jun 2025 | Spectrum Yarns | 77 | Slaithwaite | Costs | Proposed |
| 21 Jun 2025 | Play Music Today (PMT) | 96 | Nottingham | Costs | Confirmed |
| 10 Jun 2025 | Nottingham University Hospitals | 430 | Nottingham, Queen's Medical Centre and City Hospital | Costs | Proposed |
| 9 Jun 2025 | Cardiff University | 69 | Not stated | Costs | Proposed |
| 6 Jun 2025 | HSDC | About 70 | Not stated | Costs | In consultation |
| 3 Jun 2025 | Goodwin Academy | 5 | Deal | Costs | Proposed |
| 2 Jun 2025 | Oxfam | Up to 250 | London, Manchester and Oxford | Costs | In consultation |
| 23 May 2025 | NHS Integrated Care Boards | About 400 | Bristol, North Somerset, and South Gloucestershire and Gloucestershire | Costs | Proposed |
| 22 May 2025 | The Kirkwood | 19 | Huddersfield | Costs | Proposed |
| 8 May 2025 | Macmillan Cancer Support | 413 | Not stated | Costs | Confirmed |
| 8 May 2025 | University of Plymouth | Up to 200 | Plymouth | Costs | In consultation |
| 1 May 2025 | Exmoor Ales | 3 | Wiveliscombe | Costs | Confirmed |
| 29 Apr 2025 | South Devon College | About 65 | Torbay | Costs | In consultation |
| 29 Apr 2025 | Petroineos | At least 400 | Grangemouth | Costs | Proposed |
| 15 Apr 2025 | Morrisons | 396 | Tonbridge, Birmingham, Whickham, Poole, Brentwood, Kilmarnock, Weston-Super-Mare, Exeter, Croydon, London, Leeds, Portsmouth, Glasgow and Bath | Costs | Proposed |
| 11 Apr 2025 | Sainsbury's | At least 3,000 | Stanway | Costs | Confirmed |
| 4 Apr 2025 | Nippon Electric Glass | About 250 | Wigan | Costs | Proposed |
| 3 Apr 2025 | East Suffolk and North Essex NHS Foundation Trust | 468 | Ipswich, Colchester and West Suffolk | Costs | Proposed |
| 2 Apr 2025 | Metropolitan Police | At least 1,700 | Not stated | Costs | Proposed |
| 29 Mar 2025 | Scope | About 70 | Bridgwater | Costs | In consultation |
| 29 Mar 2025 | Sainsbury's | 3,000 | Swadlincote, Lincoln, Bamber Bridge and Morecambe | Costs | Proposed |
| 29 Mar 2025 | Scope | 47 | Wednesbury and Nuneaton | Costs | In consultation |
| 27 Mar 2025 | British Steel | 2,700 | Scunthorpe | Costs | In consultation |
| 24 Mar 2025 | Morrisons | About 365 | Stoke-on-Trent, Newcastle-under-Lyme, Failsworth, Eccles, Swinton, Kirkby, St Helens, Haxby Village, Bradford Thornbury, Leeds Swinnow Rd, Leeds Horsforth, Elland, Leeds Kirkstall, Bradford Enterprise 5, Sheffield Meadowhead, Bradford Victoria and Lutterworth | Costs | Proposed |
| 11 Mar 2025 | University of Dundee | 632 | Dundee | Costs | In consultation |
| 11 Mar 2025 | Dundee University | About 700 | Dundee | Costs | Proposed |
| 10 Mar 2025 | ATS Euromaster | About 400 | Plymouth, Exeter, Newton Abbot, Truro, Penzance, Taunton, Frome, Wincanton and Trowbridge | Costs | Confirmed |
| 7 Mar 2025 | Bistrot Pierre | 158 | Southport, Preston, Birmingham, Mere Green, Newport, Kidderminster, Leamington Spa and Coventry | Costs | Confirmed |
| 7 Mar 2025 | Falkirk Council | 92 | Not stated | Costs | Proposed |
| 5 Mar 2025 | Aspro Parks | Number not stated | Pembrokeshire | Costs | Confirmed |
| 2 Mar 2025 | Victim Support | 84 | Not stated | Costs | Proposed |
| 26 Feb 2025 | Aston Martin | About 150 | Not stated | Costs | Proposed |
| 24 Feb 2025 | Truro and Penwith College | Up to 50 | Truro and Penwith | Costs | Proposed |
| 14 Feb 2025 | University of Liverpool | Number not stated | Not stated | Costs | Proposed |
| 13 Feb 2025 | Macmillan Cancer Support | 413 | Not stated | Costs | Confirmed |
| 12 Feb 2025 | University of Edinburgh | Number not stated | Edinburgh | Costs | Proposed |
| 12 Feb 2025 | Somerset Council | At least 550 | Not stated | Costs | Proposed |
| 11 Feb 2025 | Manchester United | About 200 | London | Costs | Proposed |
| 7 Feb 2025 | Wabtec | At least 300 | Doncaster | Costs | In consultation |
| 7 Feb 2025 | Broad Horizons Education Trust | 9 | Not stated | Costs | Proposed |
| 7 Feb 2025 | East Riding Council | 400 | Not stated | Costs | Proposed |
| 3 Feb 2025 | Jarrolds | 4 | Norwich | Costs | In consultation |
| 3 Feb 2025 | Queen's University Belfast | Up to 270 | Belfast | Costs | Proposed |
| 1 Feb 2025 | Staffordshire police | Up to 80 | Not stated | Costs | Proposed |
| 31 Jan 2025 | University of East Anglia | At least 160 | Not stated | Costs | Proposed |
| 30 Jan 2025 | NHS England | 2,000 | Not stated | Costs | Proposed |
| 30 Jan 2025 | The Kirkwood | About 33 | Huddersfield | Costs | Proposed |
| 30 Jan 2025 | Berry Bros & Rudd | 30 | Not stated | Costs | In consultation |
| 30 Jan 2025 | English Heritage | At least 189 | Not stated | Costs | In consultation |
| 29 Jan 2025 | Post Office | About 100 | Not stated | Costs | Proposed |
| 29 Jan 2025 | BBC World Service | Number not stated | Not stated | Costs | Proposed |
| 28 Jan 2025 | Essex Police | Up to 99 | Essex and Lincolnshire | Costs | In consultation |
| 28 Jan 2025 | VPK Packaging | 59 | Leeds Bradford Industrial Estate | Costs | In consultation |
| 28 Jan 2025 | Cardiff University | 400 | Cardiff | Costs | In consultation |
| 28 Jan 2025 | Durham University | 200 | Not stated | Costs | In consultation |
| 27 Jan 2025 | Almost Famous | Number not stated | Manchester, Liverpool and Leeds | Costs | Proposed |
| 27 Jan 2025 | Cranswick Convenience Foods | 100 | Hull | Costs | In consultation |
| 27 Jan 2025 | Ubisoft | 100 | Leamington, Reflections, Newcastle-upon-Tyne and Newcastle | Costs | Proposed |
| 23 Jan 2025 | River Island | Number not stated | London | Costs | Proposed |
| 23 Jan 2025 | Schuh | Number not stated | Not stated | Costs | In consultation |
| 23 Jan 2025 | Sainsbury's | At least 3,000 | Denton, Cheadle, Hazel Grove, Swadlincote, Kent, Wrexham, Rhyl, Westwood, County Durham, Leicester, Fosse Park, Leek, Monks Cross, Huntington, North Yorkshire and Wakefield Marsh Way, Wakefield, West Yorkshire | Costs | In consultation |
| 23 Jan 2025 | Sainsbury's | 3,000 | London, Milton Keynes, Whitchurch, Hedge End, Waterlooville, Nantwich, Leek, Cannock, Gillingham, Thanet, Gravesend and Aylesford | Costs | Proposed |
| 22 Jan 2025 | St Cuthbert's Hospice | 18 | County Durham and Durham | Costs | Confirmed |
| 21 Jan 2025 | Newcastle University | About 300 | Newcastle | Costs | Proposed |
| 16 Jan 2025 | BP | Number not stated | Not stated | Costs | Proposed |
| 15 Jan 2025 | Lloyds Banking Group | About 500 | Speke, Liverpool and Pitreavie | Costs | Proposed |
| 13 Jan 2025 | PageGroup | Number not stated | Slough | Costs | Proposed |
| 10 Jan 2025 | Kirklees Council | Up to 100 | Not stated | Costs | Proposed |
| 8 Jan 2025 | Ysgol Robert Owen | Up to 20 | Newtown | Costs | Proposed |
| 7 Jan 2025 | Mind | 91 | Not stated | Costs | Confirmed |
| 6 Jan 2025 | Connect Modular | 48 | Cumnock and Ayrshire | Costs | Confirmed |
| 2 Jan 2025 | Buckinghamshire Council | About 15 | Not stated | Costs | Proposed |