Scope: job cuts
- Jobs
- Number not stated
- Announced
- 1 January 2025
- Status
- Confirmed
- Reason category
- Costs
At the time, chief executive Mark Hodgkinson said external factors had “made trading harder”, particularly noting rising rents, higher energy costs, increased staff costs and the cost of living impacting customer's spending habits.
- Costs
- Where
- Bridgwater, Wednesbury, Nuneaton, Newport, Southampton, Atherstone, Alton, Bishop's Stortford, Huntingdon, Newmarket, Beverley, Fleet, Morden, Torquay and Washington
- Source coverage
- Two or more publisher groups
- Sources
- 7 sources from 2 publisher groups.
Sources
| Publisher | Headline | Date |
|---|---|---|
| The Mirror | Major UK charity shop closing 39 high street stores - see full list of sites | 29 March 2025 |
| Birmingham Mail | Major UK charity closing 39 more stores - see full list | 29 March 2025 |
| WalesOnline | Scope set to shut down 39 stores as all branches at risk named | 29 March 2025 |
| The Mirror | Major charity shop chain shuts three high street stores as 47 at risk of closure | 15 April 2025 |
| The Mirror | High street chain closing six more stores starting this weekend | 29 August 2025 |
| The Mirror | High street chain closing 77 stores this year including three this weekend | 7 December 2025 |
| civilsociety.co.uk | Scope cuts jobs and closes shops to address growing operating deficit | 18 December 2025 |
Changes to this page
| Date | What changed | Supporting evidence |
|---|---|---|
| 11 Oct 2026 | Recorded job figure changed from 54 to Not stated. | Civil Society Media |
| 11 Oct 2026 | How the number is stated changed from Exact to Not stated. | Civil Society Media |
Is something wrong?
Tell us with a link to a source. Employers can send a response to be shown on this page.