- Home
- Government policy or tax
Job cuts where the employer's stated reason is: Government policy or tax
This is the reason the employer gave. Reasons given by unions or commentators are not used, and we add none of our own.
2026 count
9 events, 6,172 named jobs
Published job cuts
| Date | Employer | Jobs | Where | Stated reason | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 16 Sep 2026 | Entain | 400 | Not stated | Government policy or tax | In consultation |
| 7 Sep 2026 | St Gerard's School | At least 30 | Bangor | Government policy or tax | Proposed |
| 31 Jul 2026 | Betfred | At least 600 | Not stated | Government policy or tax | In consultation |
| 20 Jul 2026 | Morrisons | About 4,912 | Woodley, Berkshire | Government policy or tax | Proposed |
| 27 Mar 2026 | JM Wholesale | 19 | Not stated | Government policy or tax | Confirmed |
| 10 Mar 2026 | Bath and North East Somerset Council | 5 | Bath and Bath and North East Somerset | Government policy or tax | In consultation |
| 9 Jan 2026 | City Energy Group | 295 | Swansea and Treorchy | Government policy or tax | Proposed |
| 9 Jan 2026 | Consumer Energy Solutions | About 300 | Swansea, Treorchy and Rhondda Cynon Taf | Government policy or tax | Confirmed |
| 2 Jan 2026 | Randall's | 11 | Pembroke Dock | Government policy or tax | Confirmed |
| 2 Dec 2025 | Harbour Energy | About 100 | Not stated | Government policy or tax | In consultation |
| 4 Nov 2025 | The Entertainer | 41 | head office | Government policy or tax | Confirmed |
| 19 Oct 2025 | Betfred | 7,500 | Not stated | Government policy or tax | Proposed |
| 12 Oct 2025 | Evoke | Up to 1,500 | Not stated | Government policy or tax | Proposed |
| 9 Sep 2025 | Kensington and Chelsea Council | At least 160 | Not stated | Government policy or tax | Proposed |
| 15 Aug 2025 | Associated British Foods | 160 | Hull | Government policy or tax | Proposed |
| 27 Jun 2025 | Lotus | 1,300 | Hethel, Norfolk | Government policy or tax | Proposed |
| 26 Jun 2025 | Associated British Foods | 160 | Hull | Government policy or tax | In consultation |
| 3 Jun 2025 | Cambridge University Hospitals | About 500 | Cambridge | Government policy or tax | Proposed |
| 7 May 2025 | Harbour Energy | About 250 | Aberdeen | Government policy or tax | Proposed |
| 29 Apr 2025 | ABF | Up to 200 | Yorkshire | Government policy or tax | Proposed |
| 29 Apr 2025 | Associated British Foods | About 150 | Saltend, near Hull | Government policy or tax | Proposed |
| 19 Mar 2025 | St Austell Brewery | Up to 40 | Not stated | Government policy or tax | In consultation |
| 19 Feb 2025 | Sterling Furniture | Number not stated | Not stated | Government policy or tax | Proposed |
| 19 Feb 2025 | IAE | 12 | Not stated | Government policy or tax | Confirmed |
| 17 Feb 2025 | Yorkshire Wildlife Park | 35 | Branton | Government policy or tax | Proposed |
| 12 Feb 2025 | Beales | 25 | Poole | Government policy or tax | Proposed |
| 7 Feb 2025 | Stellantis | About 1,100 | Luton | Government policy or tax | Proposed |
| 3 Jan 2025 | Mitie | About 280 | Not stated | Government policy or tax | Proposed |