- Home
- January 2025
UK job cuts in January 2025
- Jobs in cuts proposed or under consultation
- 13,608
- Jobs in cuts confirmed or completed
- 668
- Named employers
- 61
- Administrations
- 0
Largest named cuts
| Date | Employer | Jobs | Where | Stated reason | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 27 Jan 2025 | WH Smith | Up to 5,000 | Not stated | Not stated | Proposed |
| 30 Jan 2025 | NHS England | 2,000 | Not stated | Costs | Proposed |
| 15 Jan 2025 | Lloyds | At least 1,000 | Dunfermline | Restructuring | Proposed |
| 15 Jan 2025 | Lloyds Banking Group | About 500 | Speke, Liverpool and Pitreavie | Costs | Proposed |
| 29 Jan 2025 | Tesco | About 400 | Welwyn Garden City | Restructuring | In consultation |
| 28 Jan 2025 | Cardiff University | 400 | Cardiff | Costs | In consultation |
| 22 Jan 2025 | Ineos | At least 400 | Grangemouth | Not stated | Proposed |
| 21 Jan 2025 | Petroineos | 400 | Grangemouth | Site closure | Confirmed |
| 21 Jan 2025 | Newcastle University | About 300 | Newcastle | Costs | Proposed |
| 3 Jan 2025 | Mitie | About 280 | Not stated | Government policy or tax | Proposed |
All job cuts this month
| Date | Employer | Jobs | Where | Stated reason | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 Jan 2025 | The Potters' Club | 10 | Stoke-on-Trent | Falling demand | Confirmed |
| 31 Jan 2025 | University of East Anglia | At least 160 | Not stated | Costs | Proposed |
| 31 Jan 2025 | THG Ingenuity | About 90 | Manchester | Restructuring | Proposed |
| 30 Jan 2025 | DMG Media | Number not stated | London | Restructuring | In consultation |
| 30 Jan 2025 | Multi-Color Corporation (MCC) | About 180 | Cwmbran | Restructuring | Proposed |
| 30 Jan 2025 | NHS England | 2,000 | Not stated | Costs | Proposed |
| 30 Jan 2025 | The Kirkwood | About 33 | Huddersfield | Costs | Proposed |
| 30 Jan 2025 | Berry Bros & Rudd | 30 | Not stated | Costs | In consultation |
| 30 Jan 2025 | English Heritage | At least 189 | Not stated | Costs | In consultation |
| 30 Jan 2025 | Study Group | 36 | Sheffield | Falling demand | Proposed |
| 30 Jan 2025 | Ordnance Survey | 95 | Southampton | Restructuring | Proposed |
| 29 Jan 2025 | Lloyds Banking Group | About 200 | Not stated | Falling demand | Proposed |
| 29 Jan 2025 | Cranswick | Number not stated | Hull | Restructuring | In consultation |
| 29 Jan 2025 | Post Office | About 100 | Not stated | Costs | Proposed |
| 29 Jan 2025 | BBC World Service | Number not stated | Not stated | Costs | Proposed |
| 29 Jan 2025 | Tesco | About 400 | Welwyn Garden City | Restructuring | In consultation |
| 28 Jan 2025 | BCA | About 200 | Chipping Warden | Restructuring | In consultation |
| 28 Jan 2025 | Essex Police | Up to 99 | Essex and Lincolnshire | Costs | In consultation |
| 28 Jan 2025 | VPK Packaging | 59 | Leeds Bradford Industrial Estate | Costs | In consultation |
| 28 Jan 2025 | Eden Project | At least 80 | Bodelva and St Austell | Falling demand | In consultation |
| 28 Jan 2025 | BT | Up to 90 | Belfast | Moving work abroad | Proposed |
| 28 Jan 2025 | Cardiff University | 400 | Cardiff | Costs | In consultation |
| 28 Jan 2025 | Durham University | 200 | Not stated | Costs | In consultation |
| 27 Jan 2025 | Almost Famous | Number not stated | Manchester, Liverpool and Leeds | Costs | Proposed |
| 27 Jan 2025 | Cranswick Convenience Foods | 100 | Hull | Costs | In consultation |
| 27 Jan 2025 | Ubisoft | 100 | Leamington, Reflections, Newcastle-upon-Tyne and Newcastle | Costs | Proposed |
| 27 Jan 2025 | WH Smith | Up to 5,000 | Not stated | Not stated | Proposed |
| 24 Jan 2025 | University of Kent | 58 | Not stated | Falling demand | Proposed |
| 24 Jan 2025 | Weir Minerals | Up to 250 | Todmorden | Falling demand | Proposed |
| 24 Jan 2025 | Morrisons | At least 200 | Greater Manchester | Restructuring | Proposed |
| 23 Jan 2025 | River Island | Number not stated | London | Costs | Proposed |
| 23 Jan 2025 | Davy | 10 | London | Not stated | Proposed |
| 23 Jan 2025 | Schuh | Number not stated | Not stated | Costs | In consultation |
| 23 Jan 2025 | Sainsbury's | At least 3,000 | Denton, Cheadle, Hazel Grove, Swadlincote, Kent, Wrexham, Rhyl, Westwood, County Durham, Leicester, Fosse Park, Leek, Monks Cross, Huntington, North Yorkshire and Wakefield Marsh Way, Wakefield, West Yorkshire | Costs | In consultation |
| 23 Jan 2025 | Panmure Liberum | 13 | London | Not stated | Proposed |
| 23 Jan 2025 | Sainsbury's | 3,000 | London, Milton Keynes, Whitchurch, Hedge End, Waterlooville, Nantwich, Leek, Cannock, Gillingham, Thanet, Gravesend and Aylesford | Costs | Proposed |
| 22 Jan 2025 | Ineos | At least 400 | Grangemouth | Not stated | Proposed |
| 22 Jan 2025 | St Cuthbert's Hospice | 18 | County Durham and Durham | Costs | Confirmed |
| 22 Jan 2025 | The Compleat Food Group | Up to 131 | Nottingham | Falling demand | In consultation |
| 22 Jan 2025 | DC Thomson | About 35 | Not stated | Falling demand | In consultation |
| 21 Jan 2025 | Petroineos | 400 | Grangemouth | Site closure | Confirmed |
| 21 Jan 2025 | Liebherr | About 90 | Sunderland | Falling demand | Proposed |
| 21 Jan 2025 | BNY Mellon | Number not stated | Edinburgh | Not stated | In consultation |
| 21 Jan 2025 | Newcastle University | About 300 | Newcastle | Costs | Proposed |
| 21 Jan 2025 | Jaguar Land Rover | Up to 200 | Halewood | Not stated | Proposed |
| 20 Jan 2025 | Pork Farms | At least 100 | Nottingham | Falling demand | In consultation |
| 19 Jan 2025 | London Live | 25 | Not stated | Not stated | Proposed |
| 16 Jan 2025 | BP | Number not stated | Not stated | Costs | Proposed |
| 16 Jan 2025 | CMS | Up to 15 | London | Not stated | In consultation |
| 15 Jan 2025 | Lloyds Banking Group | About 500 | Speke, Liverpool and Pitreavie | Costs | Proposed |
| 15 Jan 2025 | Lloyds | At least 1,000 | Dunfermline | Restructuring | Proposed |
| 15 Jan 2025 | Multiwood | 35 | Not stated | Falling demand | Proposed |
| 15 Jan 2025 | Saputo Dairy UK | 80 | Kirkby Malzeard | Restructuring | Proposed |
| 14 Jan 2025 | Robert Walters | Number not stated | Not stated | Falling demand | Proposed |
| 13 Jan 2025 | PageGroup | Number not stated | Slough | Costs | Proposed |
| 10 Jan 2025 | Kirklees Council | Up to 100 | Not stated | Costs | Proposed |
| 8 Jan 2025 | Ysgol Robert Owen | Up to 20 | Newtown | Costs | Proposed |
| 8 Jan 2025 | Splash Damage | Number not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Proposed |
| 7 Jan 2025 | Mind | 91 | Not stated | Costs | Confirmed |
| 6 Jan 2025 | Connect Modular | 48 | Cumnock and Ayrshire | Costs | Confirmed |
| 3 Jan 2025 | Mitie | About 280 | Not stated | Government policy or tax | Proposed |
| 2 Jan 2025 | Buckinghamshire Council | About 15 | Not stated | Costs | Proposed |
| 2 Jan 2025 | Customade Group | 101 | Newcastle | Restructuring | Confirmed |