- Home
- February 2025
UK job cuts in February 2025
- Jobs in cuts proposed or under consultation
- 4,532
- Jobs in cuts confirmed or completed
- 545
- Named employers
- 35
- Administrations
- 1
Largest named cuts
| Date | Employer | Jobs | Where | Stated reason | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 7 Feb 2025 | Stellantis | About 1,100 | Luton | Government policy or tax | Proposed |
| 12 Feb 2025 | Somerset Council | At least 550 | Not stated | Costs | Proposed |
| 13 Feb 2025 | Macmillan Cancer Support | 413 | Not stated | Costs | Confirmed |
| 7 Feb 2025 | East Riding Council | 400 | Not stated | Costs | Proposed |
| 26 Feb 2025 | Aldi | Up to 350 | Atherstone | Restructuring | In consultation |
| 7 Feb 2025 | Wabtec | At least 300 | Doncaster | Costs | In consultation |
| 5 Feb 2025 | Whitbread | About 300 | Not stated | Restructuring | In consultation |
| 3 Feb 2025 | Queen's University Belfast | Up to 270 | Belfast | Costs | Proposed |
| 19 Feb 2025 | Bangor University | About 200 | Bangor | Falling demand | Proposed |
| 17 Feb 2025 | Union Electric Steel UK | Up to 180 | Gateshead | Falling demand | In consultation |
All job cuts this month
| Date | Employer | Jobs | Where | Stated reason | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 27 Feb 2025 | Energy Compare Limited | About 120 | Sunderland | Falling demand | Confirmed |
| 27 Feb 2025 | Ocado | 500 | Fairham | Automation or AI | Proposed |
| 26 Feb 2025 | Aldi | Up to 350 | Atherstone | Restructuring | In consultation |
| 26 Feb 2025 | Zytronic | 71 | Newcastle | Falling demand | Proposed |
| 26 Feb 2025 | Aston Martin | About 150 | Not stated | Costs | Proposed |
| 25 Feb 2025 | Arla Foods | 128 | Settle | Restructuring | In consultation |
| 24 Feb 2025 | Truro and Penwith College | Up to 50 | Truro and Penwith | Costs | Proposed |
| 20 Feb 2025 | Quiz | Not known | Liverpool, Milton Keynes, Glasgow, Southampton, Athlone, Brighton, Bristol, Derry, Doncaster, Dundee, Enniskillen, Exeter, Falkirk, Fareham, Grimsby, Maidstone, Motherwell, Newbridge, Peterborough, Preston, Swansea, Tallaght and Telford | Falling demand | In administration |
| 20 Feb 2025 | Merchant Taylors' School | Up to 18 | Crosby | Merger | In consultation |
| 19 Feb 2025 | Sterling Furniture | Number not stated | Not stated | Government policy or tax | Proposed |
| 19 Feb 2025 | IAE | 12 | Not stated | Government policy or tax | Confirmed |
| 19 Feb 2025 | Bangor University | About 200 | Bangor | Falling demand | Proposed |
| 17 Feb 2025 | Yorkshire Wildlife Park | 35 | Branton | Government policy or tax | Proposed |
| 17 Feb 2025 | Union Electric Steel UK | Up to 180 | Gateshead | Falling demand | In consultation |
| 14 Feb 2025 | University of Liverpool | Number not stated | Not stated | Costs | Proposed |
| 13 Feb 2025 | Macmillan Cancer Support | 413 | Not stated | Costs | Confirmed |
| 13 Feb 2025 | Dr Martens | 70 | London | Moving work abroad | Proposed |
| 12 Feb 2025 | University of Edinburgh | Number not stated | Edinburgh | Costs | Proposed |
| 12 Feb 2025 | Beales | 25 | Poole | Government policy or tax | Proposed |
| 12 Feb 2025 | Grain Media | 6 | Not stated | Restructuring | Proposed |
| 12 Feb 2025 | Somerset Council | At least 550 | Not stated | Costs | Proposed |
| 11 Feb 2025 | Manchester United | About 200 | London | Costs | Proposed |
| 7 Feb 2025 | Bank of New York (BNY) Mellon | 150 | Edinburgh | Restructuring | Proposed |
| 7 Feb 2025 | Wabtec | At least 300 | Doncaster | Costs | In consultation |
| 7 Feb 2025 | Stellantis | About 1,100 | Luton | Government policy or tax | Proposed |
| 7 Feb 2025 | Broad Horizons Education Trust | 9 | Not stated | Costs | Proposed |
| 7 Feb 2025 | East Riding Council | 400 | Not stated | Costs | Proposed |
| 5 Feb 2025 | Condor Ferries | 31 | Poole | Not stated | Proposed |
| 5 Feb 2025 | Mishcon de Reya | 30 | London | Moving work abroad | In consultation |
| 5 Feb 2025 | Whitbread | About 300 | Not stated | Restructuring | In consultation |
| 4 Feb 2025 | Zedify | 105 | Cambridge and Edinburgh | Insolvency | Proposed |
| 3 Feb 2025 | Royal Stafford | At least 70 | Burslem | Insolvency | Proposed |
| 3 Feb 2025 | Jarrolds | 4 | Norwich | Costs | In consultation |
| 3 Feb 2025 | Queen's University Belfast | Up to 270 | Belfast | Costs | Proposed |
| 1 Feb 2025 | Staffordshire police | Up to 80 | Not stated | Costs | Proposed |