- Home
- April 2025
UK job cuts in April 2025
- Jobs in cuts proposed or under consultation
- 7,641
- Jobs in cuts confirmed or completed
- 3,131
- Named employers
- 20
- Administrations
- 0
Largest named cuts
| Date | Employer | Jobs | Where | Stated reason | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 11 Apr 2025 | Sainsbury's | At least 3,000 | Stanway | Costs | Confirmed |
| 2 Apr 2025 | Metropolitan Police | At least 1,700 | Not stated | Costs | Proposed |
| 10 Apr 2025 | Cabinet Office | About 1,200 | Not stated | Restructuring | Proposed |
| 8 Apr 2025 | Post Office | About 1,000 | Not stated | Restructuring | Proposed |
| 18 Apr 2025 | Hello Fresh | At least 900 | Nuneaton | Not stated | Proposed |
| 3 Apr 2025 | East Suffolk and North Essex NHS Foundation Trust | 468 | Ipswich, Colchester and West Suffolk | Costs | Proposed |
| 29 Apr 2025 | Petroineos | At least 400 | Grangemouth | Costs | Proposed |
| 15 Apr 2025 | Morrisons | 396 | Tonbridge, Birmingham, Whickham, Poole, Brentwood, Kilmarnock, Weston-Super-Mare, Exeter, Croydon, London, Leeds, Portsmouth, Glasgow and Bath | Costs | Proposed |
| 28 Apr 2025 | Dow | 291 | Barry | Falling demand | In consultation |
| 4 Apr 2025 | Nippon Electric Glass | About 250 | Wigan | Costs | Proposed |
All job cuts this month
| Date | Employer | Jobs | Where | Stated reason | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 29 Apr 2025 | South Devon College | About 65 | Torbay | Costs | In consultation |
| 29 Apr 2025 | ABF | Up to 200 | Yorkshire | Government policy or tax | Proposed |
| 29 Apr 2025 | Associated British Foods | About 150 | Saltend, near Hull | Government policy or tax | Proposed |
| 29 Apr 2025 | Petroineos | At least 400 | Grangemouth | Costs | Proposed |
| 28 Apr 2025 | Dow | 291 | Barry | Falling demand | In consultation |
| 22 Apr 2025 | Hobbycraft | Up to 126 | Bristol, Bournemouth and Burton-on-Trent | Falling demand | Proposed |
| 22 Apr 2025 | Hobbycraft | Up to 126 | Bagshot, Surrey, Basildon, Essex, Borehamwood, Hertfordshire, Bristol: Imperial Retail Park, Canterbury, Kent, Cirencester, Gloucestershire, Dunstable, Bedfordshire, Epping Forest, Essex, Lakeside Shopping Centre, Essex, Bristol Imperial, Lakeside, Bournemouth, Burton on Trent and Burton | Restructuring | Proposed |
| 21 Apr 2025 | Iceland | About 20 | Margate and Inverness | Site closure | Confirmed |
| 19 Apr 2025 | The Compleat Food Group | 60 | Nottingham | Falling demand | Confirmed |
| 18 Apr 2025 | Hello Fresh | At least 900 | Nuneaton | Not stated | Proposed |
| 15 Apr 2025 | Coventry University Group | 249 | Coventry | Falling demand | Proposed |
| 15 Apr 2025 | Morrisons | 396 | Tonbridge, Birmingham, Whickham, Poole, Brentwood, Kilmarnock, Weston-Super-Mare, Exeter, Croydon, London, Leeds, Portsmouth, Glasgow and Bath | Costs | Proposed |
| 11 Apr 2025 | Sainsbury's | At least 3,000 | Stanway | Costs | Confirmed |
| 10 Apr 2025 | Cabinet Office | About 1,200 | Not stated | Restructuring | Proposed |
| 8 Apr 2025 | Post Office | About 1,000 | Not stated | Restructuring | Proposed |
| 4 Apr 2025 | Boardlink Limited | 51 | Hawarden, Flintshire | Insolvency | Confirmed |
| 4 Apr 2025 | Nippon Electric Glass | About 250 | Wigan | Costs | Proposed |
| 3 Apr 2025 | East Suffolk and North Essex NHS Foundation Trust | 468 | Ipswich, Colchester and West Suffolk | Costs | Proposed |
| 2 Apr 2025 | Metropolitan Police | At least 1,700 | Not stated | Costs | Proposed |
| 2 Apr 2025 | Robert Gordon University | Up to 60 | Aberdeen | Not stated | Proposed |
| 1 Apr 2025 | Inveraray Inn Ltd | Up to 60 | Inveraray | Insolvency | Proposed |