- Home
- May 2025
UK job cuts in May 2025
- Jobs in cuts proposed or under consultation
- 15,613
- Jobs in cuts confirmed or completed
- 486
- Named employers
- 19
- Administrations
- 0
Largest named cuts
| Date | Employer | Jobs | Where | Stated reason | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 13 May 2025 | Civil service | 12,000 | London | Not stated | Proposed |
| 21 May 2025 | Liberty Steel | At least 1,450 | Rotherham and Stocksbridge | Insolvency | Proposed |
| 8 May 2025 | Macmillan Cancer Support | 413 | Not stated | Costs | Confirmed |
| 23 May 2025 | NHS Integrated Care Boards | About 400 | Bristol, North Somerset, and South Gloucestershire and Gloucestershire | Costs | Proposed |
| 15 May 2025 | FedEx | 400 | Newcastle-under-Lyme | Restructuring | Proposed |
| 24 May 2025 | DS Smith | About 300 | Newcastle, Plymouth, Sheerness, Wellingborough and Milton Keynes | Falling demand | Proposed |
| 7 May 2025 | Harbour Energy | About 250 | Aberdeen | Government policy or tax | Proposed |
| 31 May 2025 | Poundland | At least 200 | Filton, London, Cowes, Bristol, Flint, Liverpool, Ipswich, Belfast and Gravesend | Not stated | Proposed |
| 8 May 2025 | University of Plymouth | Up to 200 | Plymouth | Costs | In consultation |
| 30 May 2025 | Stagecoach West Scotland | Up to 130 | Dumfries and Stranraer | Not stated | Proposed |
All job cuts this month
| Date | Employer | Jobs | Where | Stated reason | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 May 2025 | Poundland | At least 200 | Filton, London, Cowes, Bristol, Flint, Liverpool, Ipswich, Belfast and Gravesend | Not stated | Proposed |
| 30 May 2025 | Stagecoach West Scotland | Up to 130 | Dumfries and Stranraer | Not stated | Proposed |
| 27 May 2025 | The Seventy Ninth Group | 70 | Southport | Insolvency | Confirmed |
| 24 May 2025 | DS Smith | About 300 | Newcastle, Plymouth, Sheerness, Wellingborough and Milton Keynes | Falling demand | Proposed |
| 23 May 2025 | NHS Integrated Care Boards | About 400 | Bristol, North Somerset, and South Gloucestershire and Gloucestershire | Costs | Proposed |
| 22 May 2025 | The Kirkwood | 19 | Huddersfield | Costs | Proposed |
| 21 May 2025 | Harvey Nichols | About 70 | Not stated | Restructuring | In consultation |
| 21 May 2025 | Liberty Steel | At least 1,450 | Rotherham and Stocksbridge | Insolvency | Proposed |
| 21 May 2025 | De Montfort University | About 94 | Leicester | Falling demand | In consultation |
| 15 May 2025 | The Leadmill | At least 70 | Sheffield | Site closure | Proposed |
| 15 May 2025 | FedEx | 400 | Newcastle-under-Lyme | Restructuring | Proposed |
| 13 May 2025 | Nissan | Number not stated | Sunderland | Falling demand | In consultation |
| 13 May 2025 | Civil service | 12,000 | London | Not stated | Proposed |
| 8 May 2025 | Macmillan Cancer Support | 413 | Not stated | Costs | Confirmed |
| 8 May 2025 | University of Plymouth | Up to 200 | Plymouth | Costs | In consultation |
| 7 May 2025 | Harbour Energy | About 250 | Aberdeen | Government policy or tax | Proposed |
| 1 May 2025 | Santander | 750 | Bootle | Restructuring | Proposed |
| 1 May 2025 | Lister | 30 | Stonehouse | Restructuring | Proposed |
| 1 May 2025 | Exmoor Ales | 3 | Wiveliscombe | Costs | Confirmed |