- Home
- August 2025
UK job cuts in August 2025
- Jobs in cuts proposed or under consultation
- 6,799
- Jobs in cuts confirmed or completed
- 1,536
- Named employers
- 16
- Administrations
- 2
Largest named cuts
| Date | Employer | Jobs | Where | Stated reason | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 21 Aug 2025 | Liberty Specialty Steel | 1,500 | Rotherham and Stocksbridge | Insolvency | Confirmed |
| 21 Aug 2025 | Liberty Steel | 1,450 | Rotherham and Stocksbridge | Insolvency | Proposed |
| 21 Aug 2025 | Speciality Steel | 1,450 | Rotherham and Stocksbridge | Insolvency | Proposed |
| 26 Aug 2025 | Debenhams | About 1,251 | Burnley | Restructuring | Proposed |
| 13 Aug 2025 | Poundland | About 1,000 | Blackburn, Cookstown, Erdington, Kimberley, Horsham, Hull, Kettering, Omagh, Shepherds Bush, Southport, Taunton, Nottingham, Hull Holderness, Darton, South Yorkshire and Merseyside | Restructuring | Proposed |
| 11 Aug 2025 | Santander | 750 | Brixton, Formby, Sidcup, Edgware Road, Willerby, Holywell and Plympton | Falling demand | Proposed |
| 28 Aug 2025 | Lotus Cars | Up to 550 | Norfolk and Hethel | Restructuring | Proposed |
| 15 Aug 2025 | Associated British Foods | 160 | Hull | Government policy or tax | Proposed |
| 22 Aug 2025 | Villeroy and Boch | Up to 100 | Staffordshire | Restructuring | In consultation |
| 10 Aug 2025 | Alan Turing Institute | About 50 | London | Restructuring | Proposed |
All job cuts this month
| Date | Employer | Jobs | Where | Stated reason | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 29 Aug 2025 | Scope | 6 | Alton, Bishop's Stortford, Huntingdon, Newmarket, Beverley, Fleet and March | Costs | Confirmed |
| 29 Aug 2025 | Roberts Bakery | 38 | Ilkeston | Restructuring | In consultation |
| 28 Aug 2025 | Lotus Cars | Up to 550 | Norfolk and Hethel | Restructuring | Proposed |
| 26 Aug 2025 | John Gillman & Sons (Electrical) | 30 | Tewkesbury | Insolvency | Confirmed |
| 26 Aug 2025 | Debenhams | About 1,251 | Burnley | Restructuring | Proposed |
| 26 Aug 2025 | Poundland | Not known | Erdington, Kings Heath and The Fort | Insolvency | In administration |
| 22 Aug 2025 | Villeroy and Boch | Up to 100 | Staffordshire | Restructuring | In consultation |
| 21 Aug 2025 | Liberty Specialty Steel | 1,500 | Rotherham and Stocksbridge | Insolvency | Confirmed |
| 21 Aug 2025 | Speciality Steel | 1,450 | Rotherham and Stocksbridge | Insolvency | Proposed |
| 21 Aug 2025 | Liberty Steel | 1,450 | Rotherham and Stocksbridge | Insolvency | Proposed |
| 15 Aug 2025 | Associated British Foods | 160 | Hull | Government policy or tax | Proposed |
| 13 Aug 2025 | Poundland | About 1,000 | Blackburn, Cookstown, Erdington, Kimberley, Horsham, Hull, Kettering, Omagh, Shepherds Bush, Southport, Taunton, Nottingham, Hull Holderness, Darton, South Yorkshire and Merseyside | Restructuring | Proposed |
| 13 Aug 2025 | Claire's | Not known | Not stated | Falling demand | In administration |
| 11 Aug 2025 | Santander | 750 | Brixton, Formby, Sidcup, Edgware Road, Willerby, Holywell and Plympton | Falling demand | Proposed |
| 10 Aug 2025 | Alan Turing Institute | About 50 | London | Restructuring | Proposed |
| 4 Aug 2025 | Morrisons | At least 3,600 | Coventry | Restructuring | Confirmed |
| 1 Aug 2025 | TikTok | Number not stated | London | Automation or AI | Proposed |