- Home
- Week 02
UK job cuts, week 02 of 2026 (5 Jan to 11 Jan)
- Named jobs
- 1,059
- Change
- up 264% on the week before
- Employers
- 12
- Towns
- 8
Largest
City Energy Group: 295 jobs.
Hardest-hit town
Wakefield: 115 named jobs.
Published job cuts
| Date | Employer | Jobs | Where | Stated reason | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 10 Jan 2026 | Merit Holdings | Up to 284 | Not stated | Falling demand | Confirmed |
| 9 Jan 2026 | City Energy Group | 295 | Swansea and Treorchy | Government policy or tax | Proposed |
| 9 Jan 2026 | Consumer Energy Solutions | 295 | Swansea and Treorchy | Government policy or tax | Confirmed |
| 8 Jan 2026 | Bcl Realisations 2026 Limited | Not known | Kent | Insolvency | In administration |
| 7 Jan 2026 | P & B Metal Components Limited | Not known | Sheffield | Insolvency | In administration |
| 6 Jan 2026 | Batt Cables | 70 | Not stated | Falling demand | Confirmed |
| 6 Jan 2026 | LK Bennett | About 280 | Not stated | Insolvency | Proposed |
| 5 Jan 2026 | Morrisons | Up to 115 | Wakefield | Falling demand | In consultation |
| 5 Jan 2026 | Claire’s and The Original Factory Shop | 2,550 | Not stated | Insolvency | Proposed |
| 5 Jan 2026 | Industrial Water Jetting Systems Limited | Not known | Whitehills Business Park | Insolvency | In administration |
| 5 Jan 2026 | Jhoots Pharmacy Limited | Not known | Great Barr | Insolvency | In administration |
| 5 Jan 2026 | Home Leisure Direct Ltd | Not known | Bristol | Insolvency | In administration |