- Home
- May 2026
UK job cuts in May 2026
- Jobs in cuts proposed or under consultation
- 1,610
- Jobs in cuts confirmed or completed
- 84
- Named employers
- 44
- Administrations
- 27
Largest named cuts
| Date | Employer | Jobs | Where | Stated reason | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 12 May 2026 | University of Nottingham | At least 600 | Not stated | Costs | Proposed |
| 28 May 2026 | Wallace McDowall Limited | 200 | Glasgow Prestwick Airport | Insolvency | Proposed |
| 12 May 2026 | Cancer Research | About 190 | Not stated | Costs | Proposed |
| 1 May 2026 | The Real Greek | 151 | Spitalfields, Westfield London, Dulwich Village, Bristol, Strand, Solihull, Gloucester Quays, Glasgow and Edinburgh | Falling demand | Proposed |
| 26 May 2026 | Donald Russell | 120 | Inverurie | Merger | Proposed |
| 11 May 2026 | Sussex Bakes | 120 | Chichester | Insolvency | Proposed |
| 29 May 2026 | Innis & Gunn | 100 | Not stated | Falling demand | Proposed |
| 7 May 2026 | Airsprung | 71 | Trowbridge | Insolvency | Proposed |
| 15 May 2026 | Zenith Aviation Limited | 41 | London Biggin Hill | Insolvency | Confirmed |
| 8 May 2026 | Auditory Verbal | 30 | Bicester | Insolvency | Proposed |
All job cuts this month
| Date | Employer | Jobs | Where | Stated reason | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 29 May 2026 | Wmcd Realisations 2026 Limited | Not known | N/A | Insolvency | In administration |
| 29 May 2026 | Exertis UK | Not known | Basingstoke, Burnley, Elland and Harlow | Insolvency | In administration |
| 29 May 2026 | BrandAlley | 15 | Kettering | Insolvency | Confirmed |
| 29 May 2026 | Innis & Gunn | 100 | Not stated | Falling demand | Proposed |
| 28 May 2026 | Rosling King LLP | Not known | London | Insolvency | In administration |
| 28 May 2026 | R Realisations 2026 Limited | Not known | Not stated | Insolvency | In administration |
| 28 May 2026 | Wallace McDowall Limited | 200 | Glasgow Prestwick Airport | Insolvency | Proposed |
| 27 May 2026 | E-cars UK Auto Sales Ltd | Not known | London | Insolvency | In administration |
| 27 May 2026 | Global Motors Limited | Not known | Walthamstow | Insolvency | In administration |
| 27 May 2026 | Ck Capital Management Ltd | Not known | London | Insolvency | In administration |
| 27 May 2026 | E-cars Group Limited | Not known | London | Insolvency | In administration |
| 26 May 2026 | Tc Realisations 2026 Ltd | Not known | Aylesbury | Insolvency | In administration |
| 26 May 2026 | Donald Russell | 120 | Inverurie | Merger | Proposed |
| 22 May 2026 | Lakes Bathrooms Limited | Not known | Tewkesbury | Insolvency | In administration |
| 22 May 2026 | Michelmersh Brick Holdings | 28 | Shepshed | Falling demand | Proposed |
| 21 May 2026 | Quiz | Not known | Greater Manchester | Insolvency | In administration |
| 20 May 2026 | Mirriad Advertising PLC | Not known | London | Insolvency | In administration |
| 20 May 2026 | Hescott Engineering Company Limited | Not known | Not stated | Insolvency | In administration |
| 19 May 2026 | Standard Chartered | Number not stated | Not stated | Automation or AI | Proposed |
| 18 May 2026 | Humber Doors Ltd | Not known | Anlaby | Insolvency | In administration |
| 18 May 2026 | Commercial Systems International Ltd (CSI) | 28 | Hull | Insolvency | Confirmed |
| 15 May 2026 | Titchfield Festival Theatre Limited | Not known | Fareham | Insolvency | In administration |
| 15 May 2026 | Zenith Aviation Limited | 41 | London Biggin Hill | Insolvency | Confirmed |
| 14 May 2026 | Earthave Bridging Limited | Not known | London | Insolvency | In administration |
| 13 May 2026 | Hcrg Medical Services Limited | Not known | Nottingham | Insolvency | In administration |
| 13 May 2026 | TG Jones | Number not stated | Leicester | Restructuring | Proposed |
| 12 May 2026 | Holmesterne Farm Co. Limited | Not known | Richmond | Insolvency | In administration |
| 12 May 2026 | University of Nottingham | At least 600 | Not stated | Costs | Proposed |
| 12 May 2026 | Cancer Research | About 190 | Not stated | Costs | Proposed |
| 11 May 2026 | Ree Automotive UK Limited | Not known | Coventry | Insolvency | In administration |
| 11 May 2026 | Sussex Bakes | 120 | Chichester | Insolvency | Proposed |
| 11 May 2026 | Victrex | Number not stated | Not stated | Costs | Proposed |
| 8 May 2026 | Amiry & Gilbride Healthcare Limited | Not known | Glasgow | Insolvency | In administration |
| 8 May 2026 | Trgfc Realisations 2026 Ltd | Not known | London | Insolvency | In administration |
| 8 May 2026 | Auditory Verbal | 30 | Bicester | Insolvency | Proposed |
| 8 May 2026 | JD Sports | At least 24 | Not stated | Falling demand | Confirmed |
| 7 May 2026 | Airsprung Group PLC | Not known | Wilts | Insolvency | In administration |
| 7 May 2026 | Airsprung Furniture Limited | Not known | Trowbridge | Insolvency | In administration |
| 7 May 2026 | Airsprung | 71 | Trowbridge | Insolvency | Proposed |
| 6 May 2026 | Benlowe Group Limited | Not known | Leicester | Insolvency | In administration |
| 6 May 2026 | Spaghetti House | 101 | Marble Arch, Carnaby, Oxford Street, Kensington and Soho | Costs | Confirmed |
| 5 May 2026 | E Realisations 2026 Ltd. | Not known | Milton Keynes | Insolvency | In administration |
| 5 May 2026 | Escape Fitness Limited | Not known | Peterborough | Insolvency | In administration |
| 1 May 2026 | Pelrealisations Limited | Not known | London | Insolvency | In administration |
| 1 May 2026 | The Real Greek | 151 | Spitalfields, Westfield London, Dulwich Village, Bristol, Strand, Solihull, Gloucester Quays, Glasgow and Edinburgh | Falling demand | Proposed |